We have a very welcome treat in store for our later evening hours, and will not be as loud as the fireworks. The full Buck Moon will turn into a partial penumbral lunar eclipse is due to happen: The eclipse will start on tonight at 10:08 p.m. CDT (0308 GMT Sunday, July 5) and end on Sunday at 12:53 a.m. CDT (0553 GMT). A partial eclipse that does not enter the umbra means that the partiality never comes completely shadowed, because it occurs when the Sun, Earth, and the Moon aren’t perfectly aligned. Therefore only a corner of it becomes shadowed partially, and looks like a chunk of it is missing, just like it has been bitten. The details of this are at the NASA news article: July 2020: The Next Full Moon is the Buck Moon. So, keep an eye out on your local weather, and permitting, get the cameras and telescopes out tonight! Enjoy!!

The complete event:โ€‹

  • Penumbral eclipse begins: 11:07 p.m. EDT (0307 GMT)
  • Maximum eclipse: 12:30 a.m. EDT (0430 GMT)
  • Penumbral eclipse ends: 1:52 a.m. EDT (0553 GMT)
๐ŸŒ”๐ŸŒ“๐ŸŒ’ ย  Happy Viewing!!ย  ๐ŸŒ˜๐ŸŒ—๐ŸŒ–

 

Image is of public domain at NASA, and are NOT ยฉcopy-written, but the rights are retained as with all governmental entities.

Leave a Reply